Developers from Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines & Thailand can now sell paid apps in Google Play

Google has announced that Android developers from Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand can now start selling paid applications in Google Play. Earlier, app distribution for developers from these countries was only limited to free apps in Google Play.

This development opens a whole new frontier of monetisation for app developers, who were earlier stuck with third-party app stores to sell premium apps or ad-supported apps to earn money.

Google Philippines and Malaysia have confirmed the news on their respective Google+ pages, which has also been updated on supported location for developer and merchant registration page of Google. In addition, Google has also sent an email to the developers in these countries informing the change. Here is an excerpt from the email (via).

We’re writing to let you know that we will be introducing Google Wallet Merchant registration availability for Google Play Developers in additional countries. Beginning Feb 6 2014, developers from Indonesia, Malaysia, The Philippines, and Thailand will be able to sign up as merchants through the Google Play Developer Console. Registered Merchants from these countries will receive payouts from Google via wire transfer of USD.

Google Play expands payment in local currency support to 25 more countries

In related news, Google has also expanded the number of countries, where Android users will be able to pay for apps and other content in their local currency. Earlier, consumers in these countries were actually being charged in the currency of the developer, which leads of extra charges like bank or credit card provider’s commission in exchange the money from one currency to another.

This will also allow the developers to better price their paid applications in these countries.

Here is full list of the 25 countries, which has also been updated on the support locations for distribution to Google Play users page of Google.

Australia, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Egypt, Indonesia, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malaysia, Morocco, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Romania, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela and Vietnam.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.